Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Surprise

We decided that we would wait, at least a year to expand our family. Was I happy with this decision? Not exactly but I was willing to go with it. All I heard my husband of  ten years saying was he didn't want me to have his child! Not the fact that we have so much going on right now and in a year we can see more clearly.  There's only twelve months in a year and it'll give us time to get our head around somethings and be certain this is the direction in which we want to take our lives! This conversation was had last month. Well on Tuesday after we decided we should do something about the contraceptive situation (I had already decided to get back on something, I don't like the hormonal stuff but for now it'll do)


I decided to take a pregnancy test.......well what is that? Is that a faint line?

What does that even mean? Okay just to give you some background it's five o clock in the morning and I'm trying to be quiet so no one can hear me and  no one wakes up. I feel excited and scared at the same time. This wasn't the plan, am I really? OMG it's been so long since I've seen two lines on a pregnancy test (9 years). Shyt, let me consult a friend since I don't wanna tell my husband just yet. "Yep my line was faint too" She Say's!! I'm excited, I'm nervous, and I feel responsible. This isn't exactly a surprise as we all know where babies come from but honestly I wasn't expected it either. We weren't behaving like we wanted to wait. But deep down there was apart of me that didn't think it would happen. I have had some problems physically and I kinda didn't see it as a possibility. I wanted it but I didn't truly believe it would happen and so we just kinda went with the flow. After my faint line I decided to make some phone calls.


I call the Doctor and went in to get blood work done on 2/8/11 results take 24-48 hours to come back.  I received a call and they confirmed that indeed I am expecting. It's time to tell hubby....he responded but not the way I imagined, he repeated me like he didn't hear me the first time or he needed confirmation of what I stated. We discussed it and are moving forward, we are happy yet a bit nervous.  I have another blood test today 2/11/11 since that one was taken so early they wanna make certain the levels are going up as they should. I've only informed three people thus far. The Mister and two dear friends of mine.

I feel blessed and elated but at the same time I feel scared and UN prepared. I know this is going to be a journey of excitement and changes and I plan to write about it sharing my thoughts and feelings along the way.

2 comments:

  1. Okay so..I was reading this blog all excited and feelin nervous with each line I read..LOL! Congrats! I'm so happy for you. This is so awesome. There are things happening in my life as we speak that I find myself trying to put "timelines" on as well but I just feel like to HECK with timelines!I'm just going to live and pray! Everything else will fall into place. As you now see I'm sure...lol. I'm looking forward to the parent journey myself...this blog is so encouraging. Congrats again...God Bless you and your family.

    ReplyDelete
  2. THANKS SO MUCH!! It's always nice to read comments! I've read about some of those changes you mentioned....you stated you weren't gonna blog for a week cause you were spending time with someone special :) I'm so happy for you and look forward to reading about these changes!! I agree the HECK with timelines, just go with the flow and LIVE! We get but one go round!! God bless you and Thanks again!

    ReplyDelete